PWInsider - WWE News, Wrestling News, WWE



By Paul Crockett on 2017-02-28 00:52:00

New Japan Pro Wrestling has announced the brackets for the upcoming New Japan Cup.

The single-elimination tournament is a yearly tradition for the company, with the winner receiving a shot at the championship of their choosing (Heavyweight, Intercontinental and NEVER Openweight). The tradition of the winner getting to choose their title shot started in 2014. The only person to not challenge for the Heavyweight title was Shinsuke Nakamura that same year. He instead chose to challenge for the Intercontinental Title.

Tetsuya Naito is the defending tournament champion.

Round One:
March 11
Hiroshi Tanahashi v. EVIL
Tomoaki Honma v. Tonga Roa
Michael Elgin v. Bad Luck Fale
Toru Yano v. Tama Tonga

March 12
Katsuyori Shibata v. Minoru Suzuki
Juice Robinson v. Yujiro Takahashi
Tomohiro Ishii v. Kenny Omega

Quarter-Final matches take place on March 13, 14, 15 & 17. The Semi-Finals occur on March 19. The finals occur on March 20. As opposed to previous years, this tournament is spread out over multiple events as opposed to two or three.

You can see all of the events on

If you enjoy you can check out the AD-FREE PWInsider Elite section, which features exclusive audio updates, news, our critically acclaimed podcasts, interviews and more, right now for THREE DAYS free by clicking here!