PWInsider - WWE News, Wrestling News, WWE

 
 

NEW JAPAN OFFICIALLY UNIFIES IWGP HEAVYWEIGHT & INTERCONTINENTAL CHAMPIONSHIPS

By Oliver Taylor on 2021-02-28 17:46:00

The IWGP Heavyweight Championship and IWGP Intercontinental Championship have been officially unified to create the new IWGP World Heavyweight Championship, New Japan Pro Wrestling chairman Naoki Sugabayashi confirmed to Tokyo Sports.

El Desperado versus Kota Ibushi will headline New Japan’s Anniversary Event on March 4 in the Nippon Budokan. However, it will be a non-title match.

Ibushi’s first defense of the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship will be against the winner of the New Japan Cup – New Japan’s yearly single-elimination tournament which will start on March 5.

New Japan will also hold a press conference at 3pm JST, 6am BST, 1am ET. The press conference could conceivably cover the unification news, the full card for the Anniversary Event, the full field for this year’s New Japan Cup or all of the above.

 

If you enjoy PWInsider.com you can check out the AD-FREE PWInsider Elite section, which features exclusive audio updates, news, our critically acclaimed podcasts, interviews and more by clicking here!

KasynoHEX Polska

CasinoHex.jpからネットカジノ一覧

Top Online Casinos in South Africa by CasinoHEX